School‎ > ‎Curriculum‎ > ‎

Social Sciences

The Social Sciences department is one of the largest at Holyhead and students progress with us throughout their time at the school, having the opportunity to study a broad range of qualifications.

Key Stage 3 and 4:

All students at Holyhead receive a broad and balanced PSHCE education through a combination of cross-curricular education, discrete lessons, deep learning days and a diverse tutor programme. It is further enhanced through our strong links with the local community, work experience placements, regular enrichment opportunities and ties with external agencies such as the Social Mobility Foundation.

The Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship programme at Holyhead aims to help children and young people to build their personal identities, confidence and self- esteem, make career choices and understand what influences their decisions -including financial ones. It enables them to recognise, accept and shape their identities, to understand and accommodate difference and change, to managen emotions and to communicate constructively in a variety of settings. In Year 7 students receive their PSHCE education through a cross-curricular approach and also termly deep learning days. In Years 8 – 11 all students receive 1 hour of discrete PSHCE education per week.

Learning Programme

Year  Autumn TermSpring Term  Summer Term




Identity & Racism

The Media


Rights and Crime

Diversity, Immigration

& Asylum

Body Image & Self



Aid 1 st

Government and Voting

Sex & Relationships


Drugs Education

 10Prejudice and the




Drugs Education

Rights &



Peace & Conflict


Sex & Relationships




Mental Health


Financial capability



Pregnancy &



GCSE Sociology:

From Year 9 students have the opportunity to study GCSE, following the AQA specification. Through this course students will gain a knowledge and understanding of the society in which we live and the structures and issues that define us. It is exciting, interesting and relevant to students’ lives.

Learning Programme

9IdentityThe socialisation processKey perspectives
10Studying societyEducationFamilies
11Crime & devianceMass mediaSocial inequality

Key Stage 5:

In Sixth Form students have the opportunity to further progress with the Social Sciences department and we offer a variety of subjects and qualification types, ensuring that our students get a broad and varied curriculum that equips them with the knowledge and skills for further studies.

A Level Psychology:

Psychology is the scientific study of mind and behaviour. We follow the AQA Specification A and throughout this course students gain an understanding of how to conduct research and develop analytical and evaluation skills. It is a subject that allows students to have a better understanding of their own behaviour and the world around them.

Learning Programme


Human memory



Social influence

Research methods




Research methods


Biological rhythms



A Level Sociology:

By choosing to study Sociology at A Level, students have the opportunity to explore and understand contemporary society and the people and the institutions within it. We examine important issues such as the significance of class, gender and ethnicity and students are actively encouraged to question their own position and role within it by developing important skills of enquiry. We follow the OCR syllabus.

Learning Programme


Exploring socialisation, culture and


Sociology of the family

Sociology of education (power and


Exploring social inequality and



BTEC Health and Social Care (Level 3):

Students studying Health and Social Care BTEC level 3 will be faced with real life examples, case studies and dilemmas that care professionals and care users may be faced with every day. Health and Social Care is a relevant current topic that is constantly making headlines. Students will get the opportunity to apply different strategies of effective communication to a health or social care role. In addition, students will have an understanding of how different pieces of legislation influence the health and social care sector.

Learning Programme

Unit 1Developing Effective Communication in Health and Social Care (AS)
Unit 2Equality, Diversity and Rights in Health and Social Care (AS)
Unit 4Development Through the Life Stages (AS)
Unit 3Health, Safety and Security in Health and Social Care (A2)
Unit 5Anatomy and Physiology in Health and Social Care (A2)
Unit 7Sociological Perspectives for Health and Social Care (A2)